Argus Quartet©Ben Gibbs_Summer
Friday July 14 8:00pm

Argus Quartet

2016-17 Ernst Stiefel String Quartet-in-Residence

$15, $24, $32, $40 Free tickets for students 18 and under!


In its four short years of existence, the Los Angeles-based Argus Quartet, this season’s Ernst Stiefel String Quartet-in-Residence, has performed everywhere from Carnegie Hall and the Muziekgebouw aan ‘t IJ in Amsterdam to the Hear Now Music Festival in Los Angeles and New Orleans’ Birdfoot Festival. As part of their residency at Caramoor, in addition to their public performances throughout the year, Argus serves as music mentors, lending their time and talents to Caramoor’s Student Strings program in secondary schools with a classroom-based program of concerts, conversations, and performance clinics.  Their varied program today contains masterworks by two prolific proponents of the string quartet—Haydn and Beethoven—and a world premiere by Donald Crockett, commissioned by Caramoor specifically for the Argus Quartet as part of our dedication to building “A String Quartet Library for the 21st Century.”

“They played with supreme melodic control and total authority.” – Calgary Herald

Haydn  String Quartet in C major, Op. 74 No. 1
Crockett  String Quartet No. 4, Traveling Symphony (World Premiere Commissioned by Caramoor Center for Music and the Arts) Caramoor Commission
Beethoven  String Quartet No. 15 in A Minor, Op. 132

“This new string quartet, my fourth, is written especially for the young and highly talented Argus Quartet, and with their style, sound and sense of drama very much in mind.  It is a narrative piece, essentially a compact opera (mostly) without words, set in a post-civilization era and based loosely on recent end-of-the-world-as-we-know-it works of literary fiction.  And Shakespeare.  At times somber and agitated in tone, this ‘opera’ for string quartet is nonetheless ultimately optimistic, a collection of impressions and recollections about finding a way forward in a darkening landscape.” – Donald Crockett

Friends’ Garden Party

Members at all levels are invited to attend the Friends’ Garden Party and enjoy pre-concert refreshments.
To reserve your spot, add up to two tickets (Friends Level Members) or four tickets (Partner Level Members and above) to your cart and the complimentary price will be reflected at checkout once you’ve logged in to your account.
For more information or to RSVP, please email Jennifer Pace at

Enhance your Caramoor experience.

Pre-Order Picnic Boxes

Let us pack your picnic for you! For heartier options, no lines, and the ease of ordering a picnic in advance this summer, consider choosing from our special picnic boxes offered by our caterer, Great Performances. View the menu and order by noting how many of each option you would like after selecting your seats for Argus Quartet. Confirm by selecting "Add to Cart."

Already purchased your tickets? You can still pre-order your picnic by ordering online (be sure to select July 14) or by calling the Box Office at 914.232.1252.

Order by Tuesday at 5:00pm for the upcoming week's performance.
Learn More View Menu

Argus Quartet

Learn More  Listen

Argus Quartet was formed in the summer of 2013 and is receiving invitations from concert series throughout the United States and abroad. Recent performances include appearances at Carnegie Hall, Laguna Beach Live!, the Hear Now Music Festival, Music Academy of the West, the Birdfoot Festival, and the Muziekgebouw aan ‘t IJ in Amsterdam. This season also includes performances with the Brentano Quartet and clarinetist David Shifrin at the Norfolk Chamber Music Festival, the Oneppo Chamber Series, and Carnegie Hall. The Argus Quartet will serve as the Ernst Stiefel Quartet in Residence at the Caramoor Center for Music and the Arts during the 2016-17 season.

Argus is dedicated to reinvigorating the audience-performer relationship through innovative concerts and diverse repertoire – connecting with and building up a community of engaged listeners is at the core of the quartet’s mission. The quartet also believes that today’s ensembles can honor the storied chamber music traditions of our past while forging a new path forward. In that spirit, their repertoire includes not just staples of the chamber music canon but also a large number of pieces by living composers.

Argus Quartet believes that today’s ensembles can honor the storied chamber music traditions of our past while forging a new path forward.

Through Chamber Music America and the Caramoor Center for Music and the Arts, Argus has commissioned a number of new works including quartets by Donald Crockett, composer and GRAMMY nominee Eric Guinivan, and the 2014 Hermitage Prize winner Thomas Kotcheff. Argus served as the Quartet in Residence at New Music on the Point under the guidance of the JACK Quartet, and was also selected as one of three ensembles to perform works from Kronos Quartet’s “Fifty for the Future” commissioning project at Carnegie Hall.

The quartet recently began an appointment as the Yale School of Music’s Fellowship Quartet in Residence and is the first ensemble to be mentored by the Brentano String Quartet in that capacity. In addition to their teaching responsibilities at Yale, Argus has worked with students through residencies and masterclasses at James Madison University, Rockport Music, the Milken School, the Young Musicians Foundation, California State University Long Beach, and the Birdfoot Festival.