Verona Quartet
Sunday April 29 3:00pm

Verona Quartet

2017–18 Ernst Stiefel String Quartet-in-Residence

$15, $35 Free tickets for students 18 and under!


Continuing their residency at Caramoor, the Verona Quartet returns to perform works of great emotional depth by Beethoven, Shostakovich, and Brahms. The New York Times praises the quartet as “cohesive yet full of temperament…vibrant, intelligent…” Equipped with robust experience mentoring young musicians, the Verona Quartet will provide music education in local schools through Caramoor’s Student Strings program this spring.


Jonathan Ong, violin
Dorothy Ro, violin
Abigail Rojansky, viola
Jonathan Dormand, cello


Beethoven String Quartet, Op. 18, No. 4
Shostakovich String Quartet No. 3
Brahms String Quartet in A Minor, Op. 51, No. 2

Verona Quartet

Jonathan Ong, violin
Dorothy Ro, violin
Abigail Rojansky, viola
Jonathan Dormand, cello

Artist Website  Watch

Hailed by The New York Times as an “outstanding ensemble,” the Verona Quartet – winner of the 2015 Concert Artists Guild Competition – has quickly earned a stellar reputation as one of the most compelling young quartets in chamber music today for their “interpretive strength … robust characterization [and] commanding resonance” (Calgary Herald).

2017-18 season highlights include the Verona Quartet’s Kennedy Center debut presented by Washington Performing Arts, as well as concerts spanning from New York (Museum of Modern Art and Merkin Concert Hall) to Vancouver (Vancouver Recital Society) to San Francisco (Morrison Arts Series, SFSU). In addition, the Verona Quartet has been selected by New York’s Caramoor Center for Music and the Arts as its prestigious Ernst Stiefel String Quartet-in-Residence, encompassing performances, educational residencies as well as a concert at the 2018 Caramoor Summer Festival.

The Verona Quartet is a winner of the 2015 Concert Artists Guild Competition and has won top prizes at numerous competitions including Wigmore Hall International String Quartet Competition, Melbourne International Chamber Music Competition, 8th Osaka International Chamber Music Competition, Fischoff, and the M-Prize International Chamber Arts Competition.

Selected by Musical America as “New Artists of the Month” in May 2016, the group has garnered worldwide recognition by winning major prizes at international competitions across four continents: the Wigmore Hall International String Quartet Competition, London; the 8th Osaka International Chamber Music Competition, Japan; the Melbourne International Chamber Music Competition, Australia; and in the US at the Coleman, Fischoff, and Chesapeake Chamber Music Competitions, and the M-Prize International Chamber Arts Competition.

The Verona Quartet is currently the quartet-in-residence at the New England Conservatory of Music’s Professional String Quartet Training program, under the mentorship of Paul Katz. This two-year program also features an annual recital in Jordan Hall, as well as numerous performances in and around Boston. This residency follows the quartet’s two seasons as Graduate Resident String Quartet at The Juilliard School, where they worked closely with members of the Juilliard String Quartet.

In addition to their passionate exploration of the rich repertoire already written for string quartet, the Verona Quartet are equally committed to expanding the canon by playing music by living composers. In 2017, they premiered two new works written for them: Michael Gilbertson’s String Quartet at Weill Recital Hall, and Sebastian Currier’s Etude 2: Interactions and Lullaby 1: Pulsing at New York’s Chelsea Music Festival, in collaboration with publishing company Boosey & Hawkes. In June 2018, they will premiere a new work by Julia Adolphe at the Caramoor Festival, commissioned for them through the Stiefel Residency.

The Verona Quartet has performed worldwide in venues such as Wigmore Hall (London, UK), Izumi Hall (Osaka, Japan), the National Theatre (Abu Dhabi, UAE), Melbourne Recital Hall (Melbourne, Australia), and, in New York City, at Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall and Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln Center. Strongly committed to education, they have been on the faculty of the Indiana University Summer String Academy as Quartet-in-Residence since 2016, and recent international educational residencies include: the Beethoven-Haus (Bonn, Germany); Oberlin Conservatory of Music; New York University-Abu Dhabi, and Lunenberg Academy of Music Performance (Nova Scotia, Canada). They have also appeared on National Public Radio, WQXR, WFMT, The Weekly Special on PBS, and Abu Dhabi Classical FM.

The Verona Quartet’s members hail from the USA, UK, Canada, and Singapore. They were the inaugural Graduate Quartet-in-Residence at Indiana University, where they were mentored chiefly by the Pacifica Quartet, as well as Alexander Kerr, Atar Arad, Ik-Hwan Bae, and Eric Kim. The Quartet has collaborated with artists such as Cho-Liang Lin, David Shifrin, Renee Fleming, and has worked with members of the Alban Berg, American, Brentano, Cavani, Cleveland, Guarneri, Juilliard, Tokyo, and Vermeer Quartets.