Public Ambassadors for Caramoor.

The major responsibilities of the Board are to help set Caramoor’s strategic direction, to uphold its mission, to provide governance and oversight of its operations, and maintain the organization’s financial solvency. Trustees are public ambassadors for Caramoor and are vital to the organization’s ability to advance its mission. This is volunteerism at its finest, and the organization depends on its Trustees for their generous donation of time, energy, resources, and expertise for strength and advancement.

James A. Attwood, Jr.


Joined 2007
Committee Involvement All
Resides Bedford Hills, NY

Jim Attwood is a Managing Director at The Carlyle Group, a global private equity firm with approximately $189 billion under management. Since 2000, Mr. Attwood has directed Carlyle’s private equity investments in the telecommunications and media industries globally.

He presently serves on the Boards of Directors of CoreSite Realty Corporation, Getty Images, The Nielsen Company and Syniverse Holdings, Inc. He also serves as a member of the Yale University Council, the Harvard Law School Dean’s Advisory Board, and the New York State Board of Trustees of The Nature Conservancy.

Before Carlyle, Mr. Attwood served as Executive Vice President for Strategy, Development and Planning at Verizon Communications, and held the same position at GTE Corporation prior to that. In these roles he was responsible for the oversight of all strategic planning, alliances, ventures, corporate strategy, development, and M&A activities at each company. Mr. Attwood began his professional career as an investment banker with Goldman, Sachs & Co., where he worked in both New York and Tokyo.

He received his BA in Applied Mathematics summa cum laude and MA in Statistics from Yale in 1980. In 1985, he received both his JD and MBA degrees from Harvard.

He currently lives in Bedford, NY with his wife Leslie.

Board of Trustees

James A. Attwood, Jr., Chairman*
Peter Kend, Vice Chairman*
Paul S. Bird, Treasurer*
Angela Haines, Secretary*
Judy Evnin, Chairman Emerita*
Barry J. Alperin*
James L. Amine*
David Barber
Jon Bauer*
Gail A. Binderman
Ian Cook*
William Cordiano*
Lawrence Elow
Susan W. Freund*
Michael E. Gellert*
Francis Goldwyn
Sandra S. Joys*
Floy B. Kaminski*
Cecilia Tay Kellie-Smith
Stephen Limpe*
Nancy Offit*
Richard H. O’Leary
Lawrence Rothenberg
Mrs. Andrew Saul
Nina Stanton
Lisa Welch
Ian Winchester
Richard Zinman*


*Executive Committee Member